Mehr, Markus / On
Album: On   Collection:General
Artist:Mehr, Markus   Added:Nov 2012
Label:Hidden Shoal  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-03-09 Pull Date: 2013-05-12 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 12 May 5 Apr 28 Apr 21 Apr 14 Apr 7 Mar 31 Mar 24
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 3 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 22, 2021: The Sunset Life (rebroadcast from Apr 10, 2013)
Flaming Youth
4. Jan 02, 2014: Top 30 X of 2013 part ii
2. May 28, 2015: The Sunset Life
Flaming Youth
5. May 10, 2013: Cathartic Anomalies
Only For A While
3. May 07, 2015: The Sunset Life
Only For A While
6. May 09, 2013: The Sunset Life
Duck Became Swan

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2013-03-06
A magnificent, terrifying work of sonic magic. Markus Mehr (of Germany) has found a meeting point between two very different types of experimental music: the ambient soundscape and harsh noise. The resulting sound is a dynamic dance between peace and violence, where the two dancers unite and separate at their volatile will. Released on Hidden Shoal, no less. 7 is FCC questionable, but all other songs are wordless and FCC clean. Favorites: 2, 4, 5, 8.

1. (2:07)—Harsh noise. Glitchy, bassy, barely there beat. Sounds of various softly played stringed instruments appear and vanish.
2. *(6:47)—Machine noises fuse with lovely drone washes. Morphs into a looping pattern with faint horn sounds. Falls into chaos, snaps back together.
3. (4:40)—Fades in slowly, and then BAM, a distorted hurricane of a drone that from there disappears and returns without warning.
4. *(8:54)—A melancholy loop that feels comforting at the beginning and becomes downright orchestral and epic by the middle.
5. *(9:12)—Foreboding, assaulting intro. Bursts into a drop-dead gorgeous, looping motif that features both horn sounds and something that seems like wordless, wailing vocals.
6. (1:20)—Loud, glitchy, percussive. A malfunctioning robot learning how to boogie.
7. (2:42)—BACKGROUND FCCS? Recording of monks chanting, background recording of woman shouting, electronic noises and tones.
8. *(9:43)—Water sounds, plinking sounds, soothing drones, piano. Very faint drums. Noise and deep bass creep in around the halfway mark and then burst in without warning. Builds and builds; this is EPIC. And then fades.

Track Listing
1. I'm Gonna Make You Love Me   5. Duck Became Swan
2. Flaming Youth   6. Olympia
3. Barcelona Waltz   7. Monks On The Beach
4. Only For A While   8. Tunnels