Williams, Jessica / Songs Of Earth
Album: Songs Of Earth   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Williams, Jessica   Added:Nov 2012
Label:Origin Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-02-26 Pull Date: 2013-04-28 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Apr 21 Apr 7 Mar 17 Mar 10 Mar 3
Airplays: 2 2 3 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 19, 2018: Traditions - Women's March Edition
To Be
4. May 16, 2013: Rebop
The Enchanted Loom
2. Sep 18, 2015: Rebop
5. Apr 19, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum: Track 6
The Enchanted Loom
3. Sep 19, 2014: Rebop
To Be
6. Apr 18, 2013: Rebop

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2013-02-21
SOLO JAZZ PIANO. Fairly modern, somewhat improvisational sounding solo piano performances from the extremely prolific Jessica Williams. Despite the title, I don’t discern any sort of program or theme. These pieces were recorded live in Seattle on various dates 2009-2011. All compositions by Williams, except track #7.

Solo piano. No FCC issues.

Track 1 has applause at the start. All tracks have applause fading out at the end.

1 * Mid-tempo to fast. A shimmering impressionistic surrounding of notes on both hands. Hints of a melody, but mainly a calm, contemplative “feeling.” Watch the end: she stops abruptly (~ 0:30 from the end) catching audience (perhaps DJ) by surprise. (7:43)
2 * Mid-slow. Left hand plays a walking bass line like an upright bass and a hypnotically repeated rhythmic pattern. Right hand plays a nice song-like melody. Intriguing. (5:51)
3 Slow; calm. Rumbling low bass. Shimmering right hand. Hints of Spain. (8:57)
4 Mid-slow. Pretty, romantic love song. Rather more forte than seems appropriate. (7:14)
5 Slow tempo but with fast shimmering, harp-like arpeggios. Dreamy (or sleepy). (8:45)
6 ** Mid-fast to fast. Forceful, pounding, repetitive left hand. On right, colorful melodies, runs, flourishes. Compelling & interesting. RIYL Keith Jarrett’s solo improvs. (6:22)
7 ** Slow tempo but with fast right-hand runs and embellishments. Some parts beautiful & melodic, some modal, some downright strange. Contemplative, meditative. (10:12)

Track Listing
1. Deayrhu   4. Joe And Jane
2. Poem   5. Little Angel
3. Montoya   6. The Enchanted Loom
  7. To Be