Flying Lotus / Until The Quiet Comes
Album: Until The Quiet Comes   Collection:General
Artist:Flying Lotus   Added:Oct 2012
Label:Warp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-10-14 Pull Date: 2012-12-16 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Dec 16 Dec 9 Dec 2 Nov 18 Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21
Airplays: 6 2 2 3 3 5 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 17, 2024: entropy
Getting There
4. Mar 15, 2020: Raymundo Substitution
The Nightcaller
2. Mar 09, 2023: Stop Making Sense
Getting There
5. Apr 02, 2018: Stewed Down
Getting There
3. Mar 16, 2020: Soul, Samples & Substitutions
The Nightcaller
6. Jan 28, 2018: Stewed Down
Getting There

Album Review
DJ Underbelly
Reviewed 2012-10-02
Flying Lotus
Until The Quiet Comes
Warp Records
reviewed by Underbelly

crazy-ass beat maestro Flylo's is back. Unlike Cosmogramma, this ones a more restrained, intimate record. Less dense and chaotic; dreamy. Flylo says its "a collage of mystical states, dreams, sleep and lullabies". Usual off-kilter drums and drunk Thundercat bass + Eryka Badu, Thom Yorke, other kool kats.

1: Dreamy rhodes, thundercat bass, jazzy shit. Classic flylo, always in love with his kicks! Some female vocals at the end.

*2: Insane drums, Niki Randa graces the track with her beautiful female vocals, but its the production that steals the show. Awesome.

3: Short Interlude. Think a woodpecker pecking at a synthesizer.

*4: Real groovy drums here, that Dilla swing. Most hip hop sounding so far, but with that Flylo spaciness. Great beat.

5: Deep, base-y one. Stephen Bruner on bass keepin it funky. Great use of harmony here. Strange electro drums. Great contrast to the previous cut.

6: Never really gels for me: ostensibly flylo was too high when he made this. Cool drum sounds to sample!

7: Phat bass. Filthy, as the young kids say? Sure to rock clubs, 'cept for a little flylo synth weirdness.

8: Pitched vocal chipmunk sample; reminds me of Skrillex, actually. Handclaps, more weird vocals samples. Nice basswork comes in. Gorgeous violin at the end.

9: One of the singles for the album, Eryka Badu's on it. Steady kick drum, Thundercat on bass. Definitely not the best on this album.

*10: Sounds like it was record outside on a rainy day. Really, really cool. Makes the busiest song yet. 2 min.

11: Thundercat singing and on bass. Vocals match the bass, trippy vocals about DMT. Far out, dude.

12: Bizzare womp bass. Insane 70's synths. Sounds like going to the disco on a bad acid trip. Switches to a classic LA beat, reminds me of Dr Dre with Dilla drums.

13: Real chill, jazzy, shit. Thundercat sings you a lullaby with his bass. Shuffling drums.

*14: This ones got my man Thom on it. I like this feature much better than the one on Flylo's last record. Awesome percussion; ethereal.

15: Niki Rinada features again, jazzy Alice Coltrane type shit, right down to the harp. Haunting. Got Jonathan Greenwood of Radiohead. Awesome guitar at the end.

16: Jazzy rhodes, almost lounge music at first. Laura Darlington on vocals, great progression. Fab-u-lous.

*17: Muffled honkey-tonk piano. Burial-esque. Beat comes in, track changes heart and shit gets sick. Great.

18: Whispering voices and dirty synths. Futuristic. The soundtrack to your worst nightmare.

Track Listing
1. All In   10. Until The Quiet Comes
2. Getting There   11. Dmt Song
3. Until The Colours Come   12. The Nightcaller
4. Heave[N]   13. Only If You Wanna
5. Tiny Tortures   14. Electric Candyman
6. All The Secrets   15. Hunger
7. Sultan's Request   16. Phantasm
8. Putty Boy Strut   17. Me Yesterday//Corded
9. See Thru To U   18. Dream To Me