Beck, Gary / Bring A Friend
Album: Bring A Friend   Collection:General
Artist:Beck, Gary   Added:Sep 2012
Label:Soma Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-09-21 Pull Date: 2012-11-23 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14 Sep 30
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 31, 2012: All Techno All the Time
4. Oct 08, 2012: The Big Love Show
Hopkin, Operation
2. Oct 22, 2012: The Big Love Show
5. Sep 24, 2012: The Big Love Show
Hopkin, Before The Crash
3. Oct 15, 2012: The Big Love Show

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-09-13
Gary Beck: Bring a Friend Label: Soma Records

A relative newcomer to techno, Gary Beck of Glasgow Scotland has released a tour-de-force techno album, the 100th off the legendary Soma label. Gary channels the mighty techno masters but adds fresh production sensibilities to create a new sound aesthetic. His album incorporates different styles & tempos from downtempo/ambient & breakbeat to full-on massive techno. The strongest tracks range from the epic "Algoreal" (#2), the funky "Before the Crash" (#4), the murderous "Hopkin" (#7), and the lively "Operation" (#10). Feel free to try them all do pay attention to these four tracks (2,4,7,10).

1. Atmospheric synths in multiple layers, hard-driving beat
2. Epic techno with epic buildups - earbuds don't do this justice, only a massive sound system will do.
3. Acid warbling over theatrical synth drama. Heavy rolling bass beats.
4. Funky tech-house! Chunky beats, a catchy little loop, quite groovy
5. Grinding drones, mechanical effects, crashes, zips, swirls - all bring the noise
6. Slower track featuring shimmering synths, cymbals, claps, snares - good stuff
7. Relentless pounding techno. Thumping beats, deep rumbling bass, snappy snares, simply slammin'.
8. Downtempo/ambient track, nice piano & synths & strings.
9. Broken-beat techno with perucssive effects and a breathy fem vocal loop. Neat synth buildup in the middle.
10. Awesome snappy live-sounding drums give it a jazz-band feel, but it's a broken-beat track with plenty of oomph.

Track Listing
1. I Read About You   6. Skiver
2. Algoreal   7. Hopkin
3. D51   8. Little Moon
4. Before The Crash   9. Bring A Friend
5. Unaware   10. Operation