Stefanik, Daniel / Confidence
Album: Confidence   Collection:General
Artist:Stefanik, Daniel   Added:Sep 2012
Label:Cocoon Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-09-21 Pull Date: 2012-11-23 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14 Sep 30
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 22, 2012: The Big Love Show
4. Oct 08, 2012: The Big Love Show
1996, Confidence
2. Oct 19, 2012: Live in White Plaza Big Game Rally
5. Sep 24, 2012: The Big Love Show
1996, Confidence
3. Oct 15, 2012: The Big Love Show

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-09-13
Daniel Stefanik: Confidence Label: Cocoon

Daniel Stefanik is one of the hottest names on Cocoon's label - and that's a really big thing to live up to. However, Stefanik's multi-faceted album is entertaining, diverse, lively, and playful all at once, and channels the spirit of Cocoon's live events. There's a lot of lushness in Stefanik's signature synths but also some great beats. The most phenomenal tracks are the acid-retro "1996" (#3), the tech-houser "Port of Transition" (#4), and the incredibly organic "Confidence" (#9).

1. Melodic synth intro, layered soundscape, some hi-hats & acid to hint at things to come.
2. Slammin' tech house with breakbeat-y claps. Neat little stop-starts halfway through track, with lush synthesizer backing.
3. Tech-house with acidic overlay, hard & pumpin'. The 1996 title maybe is a reference to the mid-90s sound, perhaps?
4. Chugga-chugga tech-house freight train. Rollin' and throwin' occasional synth blast.
5. Stripped-down funky-ness. Deep, bass-heavy, and shimmering synths.
6. A bit progressive, faster tempo, reverberating synth tones echoing about.
7. Chaotic minimal electro-dub with broken beat, irregular noises, shimmering synth.
8. Meandering & trippy progressive house track, layers of space-y effects & samples.
9. Incredible. An catchy organic deep synth evolves & drives the entire track over lush soundscape. Easily the best track of the album.

There are 4 additional tracks that are bonus releases that are also pretty good here. Try #11 & #13.

10. Dry & crispy claps & hi-hats over a watery soundscape. Acidic bubbling near end.
11. Sci-fi electro-funk with a tech-y grinding beat & bubbling synth soundscape.
12. Funky & break-y tech-house that goes into a crescendo of synth madness.
13. Straight-up synth-y house, but builds up w/ fem. vocal samples and epic synth warbling.

Track Listing
1. Entrance   7. Dazed And Confused
2. Light On   8. Keep On (Version 2)
3. 1996   9. Confidence
4. Port Of Transition   10. Basement Vault (Vinyl Release Only)
5. Distillery   11. Elektron Storm (Vinyl Release Only)
6. Bend The Rules   12. Prelude (Vinyl Release Only)
  13. Rush (Vinyl Release Only)