Brocksieper, Falko / Shortcake Strategy
Album: Shortcake Strategy   Collection:General
Artist:Brocksieper, Falko   Added:Sep 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-09-21 Pull Date: 2012-11-23 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21 Sep 30
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 31, 2012: All Techno All the Time
Reverse Engineering
3. Oct 15, 2012: The Big Love Show
Reverse Engineering
2. Oct 22, 2012: The Big Love Show
Reverse Engineering
4. Sep 24, 2012: The Big Love Show
Lmfm, Avoid (Feat. Benjamin Fehr)

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-09-13
Falko Brocksieper: Shortcake Strategy Label: Treibstoff

Berlin-based Falko Brocksieper has over 100 releases to his credit and has been a fixture in European techno for almost two decades. This is his latest full-length album, in which he showcases brainy & thoughtful creations that go beyond mere terms such as "minimal techno or tech-house". The whole album is really cool, and I'd say the most non-standard dance tracks are the most interesting. For me the winners are #2 (Avoid), #5 (LMFM), #9 (Become), and #10 (Land's End), none of which are standard tech club bangers. But the two club bangers are #8 (Hoboken) & #9 (Reverse Engineering) are also phenomenal.

1. Big synth stabs and some vibraphone tinkling over a tech-house framework.
2. Retro-style electro breaks with a cool robo vocal. Goofy fun & sinister.
3. Synth-driven tech-house, straight 4/4 beats w/ a catchy melodic pop-flavored loop.
4. Nerdy electro with a modified electronic Peruvian pan flute and Andean melodies.
5. Nervous electronic noodling, crackles, and insistent beats & female vox saying "love me follow me".
6. Playful synths and electro warbles. Nerdy & brainy electronica.
7. Banging & insistent techno with a spooky ringing tone and slammin' beats.
8. Fabulous techno. Percussive and mechanic with a nervy pitched-up synth that's so druggy and awesome. Channels the spirit of the Detroit masters.
9. Soulful deeper disco track, chilled-out male vox and reverberating synths & effects
10. Thought-provoking melodic synths and varied percussive effects.

Track Listing
1. Let's Surface   6. Pillow Biter
2. Avoid (Feat. Benjamin Fehr)   7. Hoboken
3. Outride A Crisis   8. Reverse Engineering
4. Punta Ayampe   9. Become (Feat. Big Bully)
5. Lmfm   10. Land?S End