Lucena, Duda Quartet / Duda Lucena Quartet Live
Album: Duda Lucena Quartet Live   Collection:World
Artist:Lucena, Duda Quartet   Added:Sep 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-01-19 Pull Date: 2013-03-24 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 3
Airplays: 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 23, 2016: Clean Copper Radio GES 2016 World Music Show
corcovado, Lugar Comum
2. Feb 02, 2013: Music Casserole

Album Review
librae jackson
Reviewed 2013-01-11
Duda Lucena Quartet/Live/Borboleta Records

A warm collection of covers; remakes of Brazilian classics. This was performed before a live audience, and the recording has a very intimate feel. As latter listeners, we get the benefit of enjoying the audible aesthetics of that moment – from wherever we are – and as often as we want. This is an album that can accommodate frequent relaxation. Mellow rhythms here are suitable for the thinker in the lounge, or the thinker, on the go.
Duda Lucena plays the guitar and provides nice vocals, in Portuguese. He’s joined by Quentin Bennet on the drums, Kevin Hamilton on the acoustic bass and Gerald Gregory on guitar. Together, they present a display of Brazilian Jazz.

Recommended: 1, 2, 3, 4(though the entire recording is a very pleasant listen, from beginning to end)

1. Lugar Cumum (5:55)
Beautiful song by Joao Donato & Gilberto Gil. Lucena opens the curtain with a gentle guitar riff, played repetitively, until 0:31,when the quartet breaks into the main groove. Very mellow and traditional. Nice solos from acoustic bass, piano and guitar.

2. Corcovado (5:48)
This is one of Jobim’s most covered compositions. Lucena’s Quartet doesn’t disappoint, here. Opens with the solitary guitar, followed by drums, bass, piano and Lucena’s relaxing singing. Nice guitar solo at 1:36.

3. Sina (5:28)
The quartet performs an excellent rendition of this classic by another legendary Brazilian artist, Djavan. Opens with fantastic percussion, which continues throughout . The lyrics are sung with so much heart that one may want to learn Portuguese, so as to get in on the fullness of it.

4. Sol (5:29)
Mellow groove, with a soulful swing. This is the album’s one Duda Lucena original composition. It’s an instant classic. Phenomenal guitar solo at 2:38.

5. Trilhos Urbanos (6:13)
This performance was sound engineered so well that the percussion is subtle, while being wonderfully busy. This remake of Caetano Veloso’s classic is a snapshot of Brazillian Jazz, at its finest. Very cool ending to the song, as well.

6. Drao (6:14)
Another beautiful piece of music. Delightful bass and piano solos.

7. Odara (6:57)
Lush melodies. Stellar piano, bass and drum solos. Again, the sound mix is so good that even the drum banging is kept within balance.

Track Listing
1. Lugar Comum   4. Sol
2. corcovado   5. Trilhos Urbanosdrao
3. Sina   6. Odara