Psychic Paramount, The / Ii
Album: Ii   Collection:General
Artist:Psychic Paramount, The   Added:Aug 2012
Label:No Quarter  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-10-14 Pull Date: 2012-12-16
Week Ending: Dec 16 Dec 9 Dec 2 Nov 18 Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21
Airplays: 5 1 3 3 2 4 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 25, 2018: Being as an ocean
N5 Coda
4. Nov 05, 2016: Life Aquatic
2. May 27, 2017: Ode to Year Two
5. May 24, 2016: Life Aquatic
3. Mar 22, 2017: Reckless Burning (Swim into the Sun)
6. May 13, 2016: A Visit From Drum (Friday the 13th)

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2012-08-22
Intense non-stop prog flavored wall of noise rock. Guitar bass drums with effects/synth, all instrumental. Something post-rock, Trans Am, about this. Intense songs just come out swinging, relentless. Rely on hypnotic repetition. Takes the prog rock to a new level, breaking through into psyche noise. Like Glenn Branca on speed, Sonic Youth cleaned up. “Can meets Sonic Youth meets Yes” said Rick Moranis at their recent Oakland show. One of my favorite bands of all time.

1) (5:47) balls out driving intense, nice spacey out-tro that leads into next
2) (8:56) spacey intro coming out of previous, proggy jammy noisiness, cool keyboard sounds midway
3) (6:48) chiming chords to start, repetitious/hypnotic proggy
4) (5:10) beautiful wall of intense prog with cool soundbed noise
5) (6:04) chiming, intense, epic, blends directly into next (play together)
6) (4:45) takes the beat back a bit, more sexy and less balls out, but cool with ride cymbal going and bursts of noise, killer
7) (2:44) jazzy proggy drums and riding feel, less intense but upbeat

Track Listing
1. Intro   4. N5
2. Ddb   5. N6
3. Rw   6. Isolated
  7. N5 Coda