Hayes, Sean / Before We Turn To Dust
Album: Before We Turn To Dust   Collection:General
Artist:Hayes, Sean   Added:Aug 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-11-25 Pull Date: 2013-01-27
Week Ending: Jan 13 Dec 9 Dec 2
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 27, 2022: The Road Trip (rebroadcast from Mar 3, 2017)
Bam Bam
4. Apr 20, 2017: Road Trip
Bam Bam
2. Jul 14, 2018: Road Trip
Before We Turn To Dust
5. Mar 17, 2017: Road Trip
Bam Bam
3. Apr 27, 2017: The Road Trip
Bam Bam
6. Mar 10, 2017: Road Trip
Bam Bam

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2012-11-18
Singer/songwriter/guitarist Sean Hayes performs easy-going light rock songs. His unpolished voice is soulful & interesting. He’s accompanied here by keyboards, bass & drums; add horns on about half the tracks, backing vocals on a few. Many of the songs on this album have rather touching lyrics about his Hayes’ wife and child. Try any track; I’ve marked the songs I particularly enjoyed. The best (3, 6, 9) are as different as can be.

No FCC issues.

1 * Mid-tempo, sweet & easy. Acoustic piano intro; elec. piano throughout. R&B-ish horns led by baritone sax. Minimal bass & drums. (4:55)
2 Mid-tempo. More of a rock groove with guitar, bass & drums. Gravelly vocal. (4:29)
3 ** Mid-tempo. Damn! You SO fine! Catchy melody, good singing, mildly sexual lyric. Female harmony. Soulful piano & horns. (3:58)
4 Mid-slow love song. Not bad, but a bit heavy handed & thumpy on piano & drums. (3:49)
5 * Mid-slow. Pretty ballad; a bit too mellow. One of his best vocals: his voice is clear and high on lead and harmony tracks. (4:22)
6 ** Mid-slow. Accompaniment by brass ensemble (trumpet, trombone, tuba) is worth the stars. His good singing is a bonus. (3:42)
7 Fast. Groovy feel, but a bit repetitive. Driving bass & drums. Good male & female backing vocals. (3:44)
8 Mid-tempo. A bit harder with more elec guitar than most tracks. Low-fi and buzzy. (3:08)
9 ** Slow, blue. Funeral march piano, drums & bass. Powerful, emotional vocal. (3:18)
10 * Slow. Pretty as a lullaby. Nice male/female vocal duet. Minimal guitar. (2:19)

Track Listing
1. Before We Turn To Dust   6. To Be Born
2. Miss Her When I'm Gone   7. Rocksteady
3. Bam Bam   8. In Your Pocket
4. Live It   9. Lucky Man
5. Drop Down   10. Innocent Spring