Sonny & The Sunsets / Longtime Companion
Album: Longtime Companion   Collection:General
Artist:Sonny & The Sunsets   Added:Jul 2012
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-07-15 Pull Date: 2012-09-16
Week Ending: Sep 9 Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 12 Aug 5 Jul 29 Jul 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 27, 2015: The Sunset Life (Shayde Sartin and Sonny Smith are Cool Guys)
I Was Born
4. Apr 25, 2013: Daydream Disaster
Pretend You Love Me
2. Apr 23, 2014: Whatever the Hippies Want, Bitch!
Pretend You Love Me
5. Apr 09, 2013: Home Free
Pretend You Love Me
3. May 16, 2013: Daydream Disaster
Sea Of Darkness
6. Dec 08, 2012: Buford J. Sharkley's Top of 2012 Tracks Whatever
I Was Born

Album Review
Wallace Brontoon
Reviewed 2012-07-16
Reviewed by Hervey Okkles, 7-14-2012

Sonny Smith expresses his heartache over his ten-year relationship coming to an end, by turning The Sunsets into a country-rock band, to GREAT results.

Sonny Smith is a hell of a talented guy, a master of any genre he touches (seriously, check out the 100 Records project...), but here, he pounds out a unified and REALLY solid pure country/folk album. Give it a shot, it grows on you.

Almost all tracks are equally great. No FCCs.

1 (3:45) **** Bruised straight-ahead upbeat folk, with scratchy delivery. "Am I really here?" Halfway through, it's joined by a garden of woodwinds, and it's all very pretty. They get really chirpy right at end.
2 (3:02) *** Beery strumming angry honky-tonker. GREAT hooks and texture. This is everything you want from a heartbroken honky-tonk dude.
3 (4:19) *** Muffled instrumentation accentuates the heartbreak, wistful and catchy, but sad sad folk.
4 (5:37) **** More of a '60s jammy folk-rock vibe (think Byrds), but the same spectrum of heartache and wistfulness. Psychey flutes and whatnot join before long. Really nice, great hooks.
5 (5:44) **** More of a straightforward twangy Marty Robbins type. Shaggy, halfassed (but charming) story of animals ("In the year of the cock, I was the flea") Attempts at Dylanesque wordplay.
6 (2:37) *** Slide guitar! Morose flute! Driving country, with a purpose. More woodwinds! Instrumental, echoes Dylan's "Nashville Skyline" more than a little.
7 (2:59) *** Sunshiney classic country, with his deflated putdown ("I look into your eyes, I see the void.") Sour half-singing.
8 (2:58) **** More slide-guitar, whimsical but acid country ("Time will tell if we stick together") Pure Burrito Brothers. God, Sonny Smith has a gift for hooks.
9 (2:49) *** More of the same, with a mock-gospel breakdown halfway thru ("Oh please; oh please") His mind is messed up all the time. Great steel guitar solo.
10 (4:25) *** A more Motown-influenced melody, with chorus in background, but funky organ grounds everything. Steel guitar gives it the country sound, but the flutes, too! It's a real mutt.

Track Listing
1. I Was Born   6. Rhinestone Sunset
2. Dried Blood   7. I See The Void
3. Children Of The Beehive   8. Sea Of Darkness
4. Pretend You Love Me   9. My Mind Messed Up
5. Year Of The Cock   10. Longtime Companion