Kishi Bashi / 151a
Album: 151a   Collection:General
Artist:Kishi Bashi   Added:Jul 2012
Label:Joyful Noise Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-01-26 Pull Date: 2013-03-31
Week Ending: Mar 31 Mar 24 Mar 17 Mar 10 Mar 3 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 16, 2023: Up the Beanstalk
Bright Whites
4. Dec 03, 2014: Radio Personality
2. Apr 15, 2022: Down the Rabbit Hole (rebroadcast from Apr 12, 2014)
5. Apr 12, 2014: Down the Rabbit Hole
3. Dec 06, 2016: Waste FM
Bright Whites
6. Dec 13, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
It All Began With A Burst

Album Review
catherine harris
Reviewed 2013-01-11
This is Kishi Bashi’s (touring member of Of Montreal and Regina Spektor) first solo album, and wow, you would not be able to guess that it’s just one man with a violin, a looping peddle and a synth. The sound he produces is this huge, celebratory fun fest that veers from Andrew Bird to noise rock. The tracks occasionally mix English and Japanese vocals, and all include strings and violin to varying extents, building the sound up with layered synth, harp. The title refers to a Japanese expression meaning “live every day as though it were your last”, and this album definitely takes this philosophy to heart; literally every track is full of uplifting, beautiful, radiant energy and joy. All recommended, standout tracks 1, 3, 4, 7, 8

FCC Clean
1. Intro / Pathos, Pathos* – Lush orchestral opening, transitions to a semi-comprehensible, jubilant chorus, nice violin and bass doodles in the background
2. Manchester – Dreamy, atmospheric love-sick vocals, strings add accompanying movement with escalating runs
3. Bright Whites**** – Unbelievably catchy chorus opening, jangly, hand-clapping, harmonized, floating lyrics, abrupt ending
4. It All Began With A Burst*** – Punchier lyrics, vocals more of a focus, builds as more strings/bass/synth layered in, celebratory
5. Wonder Woman, Wonder Me – Exposed, layered vocals with tinkling violin, snapping, harp accompaniment, vintage crooning
6. Chester’s Burst Over the Hamptons – Urgent violin, heavier, persistent percussion, transitions to sustained, distorted synth chords
7. Atticus, In the Desert* – Epic-like vocals driven by metallic acoustic guitar, more rock influence, swooping string interludes
8. I Am the Antichrist to You** – Hymnal-like vocals, subdued opening builds with soaring strings, harmonized, layered voice, rich bass, cinematic
9. Beat the Bright Out of Me – Transitions from previous song, minor, metallic guitar with chanted vocals, morphs into 3 min of swooping, layered sustained sound/chords

Track Listing
1. Intro/Pathos, Pathos   5. Wonder Woman, Wonder Me
2. Manchester   6. Chester's Burst Over The Hamptons
3. Bright Whites   7. Atticus, In The Desert
4. It All Began With A Burst   8. I Am The Antichrist To You
  9. Beat The Bright Out Of Me