Worm Ouroboros / Come The Thaw
Album: Come The Thaw   Collection:General
Artist:Worm Ouroboros   Added:Apr 2012
Label:Profound Lore  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-04-21 Pull Date: 2012-06-24 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Jun 17 Jun 10 Apr 29 Apr 22
Airplays: 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 10, 2014: Sounds of the Underworld
When We Are Gold
4. Jun 09, 2012: The Mongrel's Stoop
Ruined Ground
2. Oct 03, 2013: Deathcrush
When We Are Gold
5. Apr 26, 2012: Nothin' To Do
Further Out
3. Jun 15, 2012: Last Verses*
When We Are Gold
6. Apr 25, 2012: Brownian Motion
Further Out

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-04-14
Local SF trio delves into some gloomy, spacious doom/post-rock, wandering in an ethereal realm that isn’t quite heavy but not the opposite either. Features members of Agalloch, Amber Asylum, World Eater, and more. Fans of Agalloch will dig the driting, foggy sound of these sparse and somber songs. The guitarist and bassist sing in trembling, mournful falsettos. Very spacious and airy stuff, slow and drenched in reverb; it evokes the forests of the Pacific Northwest in a similar way to the latest Wolves In The Throne Room LP. Hits the spot if you like the lighter side of Pelican, Isis, even Jesu.
FCC clean. Play any track!

1. (10:35) Hovering synth tones and melancholy priestess incantations eventually joined by post-rock guitars that come down into some heavy depths for a while.
2. (7:19) starts out so quiet it would be drowned out by a noisy SF crowd, but gradually gathers momentum.
3. (7:52) Quiet, hushed ballad, really minimal arpeggios, drums absent.
4. (9:32) Dark and brooding funeral ballad, lonely minor key contemplation, the riffs slowly lumber somewhere into doom territory
5. (7:32) (you get the idea by now…) starts out light, crescendos into something massive and epic.
6. (7:53) sort and delicate trance, no drums at all

Track Listing
1. Ruined Ground   4. When We Are Gold
2. Further Out   5. Withered
3. Release Your Days   6. Penumbra