Wax Idols / No Future
Album: No Future   Collection:General
Artist:Wax Idols   Added:Apr 2012
Label:Hozac Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-04-07 Pull Date: 2012-06-09
Week Ending: Jun 10 Jun 3 May 27 May 20 May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 22
Airplays: 2 3 1 2 3 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 11, 2017: Life Aquatic
Grey Area
4. Jan 21, 2014: ltae night dryer
Dead Like You
2. Jul 29, 2016: Life Aquatic
5. Jul 26, 2013: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
3. Jan 15, 2015: Meow: The Best Of The Decade So Far (2010-2014)...The Sequel!
Dead Like You
6. Jul 25, 2013: Home Free
Grey Area, Dead Like You

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2012-04-03
This is a “One Girl Band”: Hether Fortune providing all the instruments via multitracking. And good god is this ever good! Theres some sincere and genuine slop in the surfy drums here and there that is so endearing. But its hard to say where she excels best: guitar? Vocals? Harmonies abound, driving punky garagey surfy lovely guitar work. The whole time I was hearing shades of Wire in amongst the Raincoats and Holly Golightly, then near the end she whips out a kick ass cover of a Wire song. This is so good, so good that it very well might actually kill Mr Esquire, he may actually run dry of meows…

1) (3:07) slightly surfy upbeat driving killer drums with a cool percussive thing happening
2) (3:42) not sure which track is better, this or the previous, but probably this one: theres some “call response” vocals going on and the surfiness is heavier, beat more simple
3) (1:36) a total old Wire 2/4 beat punk rock-out (foreshadowing a song to come)
4) (2:23) jangly old school college rock fee
5) (3:24) starts off acoustic-y and ballady, becomes a slower strummy morose rocke
6) (1:51) faster rockin, again you hear the “1-2-X-U” Wire spirit
7) (5:46) starts with a sample of footsteps, door slam, then nice noisey feedbacky guitar for a bit then a slow tribal beat morose head nodder
8) (4:07) almost poppy, mix of pretty guitars over an accessible tribal beat and pleasing vocals
9) (3:09) another more indie feeling one, pretty and soaring guitar hook
10) (2:02) oh yes, no more foreshadowing: This is the Wire cover that comes off with absolute perfection!!
11) (3:52) and of course she remembers to close with a strong one, a lovely piece that nods and sways and jumps and sounds like being in love – despite the dark dark lyrics

Track Listing
1. Dead Like You   6. Hotel Room
2. Hitman   7. Human Condition
3. Dilno   8. Bad Future
4. Gold Sneakers   9. Uneasy
5. Nothing At All   10. Sand In My Joints
  11. Grey Area