Salo / Sundial Lotus
Album: Sundial Lotus   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Salo   Added:Mar 2012
Label:Innova Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-04-29 Pull Date: 2012-07-01 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 1 Jun 17 Jun 3 May 27 May 20 May 13 May 6
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2024: Music Casserole
Sundial Lotus
4. Jul 20, 2014: Stringless Banana
Orbitron Revoluto
2. Feb 25, 2023: Music Casserole
Orbitron Revoluto
Orbitron Revoluto
3. Aug 23, 2014: Music Casserole
Trans-Galactic Sleep Chamber, Sundial Lotus
6. Jun 26, 2012: Rebop
The Sky Is An Eye

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-04-23
Bassist and composer Ben Gallina leads a seven-piece band through some stunning jazz-fusion performances. The intricate compositions are tight and cohesive, despite wildly different parts for each musician, and each player is at least a borderline virtuoso. Clean and polished electric guitar and keyboards are especially noteworthy. The tunes are delightful and organic, played with the collective intensity of a Mingus group—think Weather Report in their most cheerful moods, with some notable Latin and World influences in the brass, although they can rock just as hard with acoustic instruments.

1. (7:18) Brilliant suite progresses through many distinct parts—some are gentle and meandering, while others are bright and boisterous.
2. (3:59) A startling barrage of different motifs, a wide variety of tempos and rhythms (ranging from rock, blues, swing, even ska?), the whole band switching on a dime in perfect unison.
3. (7:04)* Upbeat and cheery piece, call this lounge music if the lounge is underwater beneath a warm Caribbean sun. A relaxed but persistent guitar solo takes you to outer space, and then a warm tenor sax solo brings you back to earth.
4. (7:45)*Gritty groovin’ klezmer-sounding piece romps around in many directions.
5. (7:08) Gentle, blissful sunshiney ballad.
6. *(7:27) A brash and immediate composition with helter-skelter sixteenth note rhythms. Skronky sax, bombastic electric piano and frantic drums.
7. *(7:30) breezy layers of gorgeous Bossa-influenced harmonies

Track Listing
1. The Sky Is An Eye   4. Worm Emperor
2. Metamorphistopheles   5. Glowing Orbes
3. Orbitron Revoluto   6. Sundial Lotus
  7. Trans-Galactic Sleep Chamber