Tindersticks / Something Rain, The
Album: Something Rain, The   Collection:General
Artist:Tindersticks   Added:Mar 2012
Label:Constellation Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-03-17 Pull Date: 2012-05-19
Week Ending: May 20 May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 15 Apr 8 Mar 25
Airplays: 3 3 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 07, 2014: One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish: The Taxonomical Project of Theodor Geisel
Show Me Everything
4. May 19, 2012: the gilded youth
Slippin Shoes
2. Jul 02, 2013: Meow
Show Me Everything
5. May 18, 2012: The Sunset Life
Slippin Shoes
3. Jun 27, 2012: Meow After Midnight
Show Me Everything
6. May 13, 2012: meow
Show Me Everything

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2012-03-16
Masters of their art for going on 20 years (more?) this English combo defines attention to detail, analog perfection, acoustic drippy sultry swaying everything. Male vocals that are distinct emotional and epic, along the lines of an Ian Curtis or David Bowie or Sinatra before them. Hammond organs, tasteful guitars, string arrangements, brass/woodwinds, very impresario when you dissect it but never comes across in that “music school” way. Not sure how these guys pull this off without it being cloying retro or such. Even Nick Cave must bow to these guys. Play with him, Ana Calvi, Anita Lane. Amazing stuff.

1) FCCS (9:04) spoken word story over minimal strummed guitar and keys that build, FCCs don’t appear until the “shocking” end, a must play during safe harbor
2)(5:29) lovely swingy sexy beat, sultry
3) (4:17) upbeat almost a retro groovy 60’s flare with wah wah pedals and “colored girl” background vocs in chorus
4) (5:44) dark, brushed drums, nice
5) (4:32) upbeat sorta with brass, approaching poppy with the chorus hooks, despite the minor keyed verses
6) (5:00) simple casio rhumba beat, slow with somber strings, “medicine you want, medicine you need…”
7) (5:43) upbeat, wah wah appears again, cool subtle noise, urgent and tense with sax, spy movie feel
8) (7:40) slow and dreamy feel, pretty and slow dancing material, epic
9) (2:42) pleasant instrumental, signature sound

Track Listing
1. Chocolate   5. Slippin Shoes
2. Show Me Everything   6. Medicine
3. This Fire Of Autumn   7. Frozen
4. A Night So Still   8. Come Inside
  9. Goodbye Joe