Bardo Pond + Tom Carter / 4/23/03
Album: 4/23/03   Collection:General 12"
Artist:Bardo Pond + Tom Carter   Added:Mar 2012
Label:Three Lobed Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-03-31 Pull Date: 2012-06-02 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1
Airplays: 1 3 4 2 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 18, 2013: maximum entropy
4. Aug 16, 2012: minimum entropy ii
2. May 23, 2013: minimum entropy ii
5. Aug 15, 2012: Thermonuclear Bar
3. May 22, 2013: minimum entropy
6. Aug 01, 2012: The Thermonuclear Bar

Album Review
Diego Aguilar-Canabal
Reviewed 2012-03-30
Slow and freeform psychedelic jams recorded live in Philadelphia—master drone guitarist Tom Carter (also of Badgerlore and Charalambides) joins psych rock legends Bardo Pond for a killer set. A celebration of drifting guitars, hazy feedback, and crisp, ethereal tube amp guitar tone; rhythms are repetitive and crawl along at a tempo that I can only describe as narcotic. This vinyl reissue brought to us by Three Lobed Recordings features a previously unreleased track from the set, and a bonus CD of a later recording is currently in our rotation. Not as heavy as the Carlton Melton split, but fans of Black Sabbath or even Taj Mahal Travelers will be equally pleased.

No FCCs. Sides 1 and 3 are the longest and most interesting tracks, and Side 4 has the bonus track.

Side 1
1. (17:40) Dark, brooding psychedelic trance. Swells and surges in some gradual crescendos but still plods along at a lethargic pace.
Side 2
1. (4:15) Atmospheric, pretty guitar harmonies drifting around; totally gorgeous ambient Tom Carter “Skyline Grinder” style
2. (13:07) spacious guitar noodling with rumbling fuzzy bass. Sounds like they’re just admiring the sounds of their own amplifiers.
Side 3
1. (19:43) More six-string buzzing and meandering. Vocals, flute, slide guitar, and drums slowly join in a dreamy haze about halfway through, culminating in a vibrant free-psych frenzy.
Side 4
1. (10:24) Twinkling, resonating notes droning on and on. Reverbed harmonics and other cool effects. “Woah guys, we have pretty sweet amps!”
2. (8:28) Slow, quiet and dreamy—gorgeous. This is what Tom Carter does best.

Track Listing
1. A   4. C
2. B1   5. D1
3. B2   6. D2