Twilight Sad, The / No One Can Ever Know
Album: No One Can Ever Know   Collection:General
Artist:Twilight Sad, The   Added:Mar 2012
Label:Fatcat Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-04-29 Pull Date: 2012-07-01
Week Ending: May 27 May 20 May 13 May 6
Airplays: 1 1 1 7

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 22, 2017: Music Casserole
4. Jan 23, 2015: A Visit From Drum
2. Oct 16, 2015: A Visit From Drum (Treasure Island)
5. Oct 31, 2014: A Visit From Drum (Spooky Scary Time)
3. May 06, 2015: Emergency Crew (sub for Miss Information)
Not Sleeping
6. Oct 24, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Don't Look At Me

Album Review
Trent Kay
Reviewed 2012-04-06
Gloomy harsh Scottish shoegaze/post-punk, hints of industrial, goth, metal. Very Joy Division. Epic crests, punishing atmosphere, think East Berlin and cold grey skies. Essentially dark new wave under a heavily-accented (check out the trilled 'r's) really-foreign-sounding drawl. At times the drawl approaches Misfits-esque tremble levels. These cats may as well be singing in German.

RIYL: Joy Division, Ministry, NIN

try: 1, 5, 6, 9
no FCCs

*1. (4:27) mid-slow, relaxed and broody. dark, 8-bit-addled, wheezy, heavy. the tension between the hi-reg synth and deep bass is sort of fantastic.
2. (6:26) takes ~25 sec to warm up. then: mid-fast kit, insidious bass, snarling guitar, discordant melody, proggish.
3. (4:24) circular reverby hella-minor light-touch electric guitar (cough radiohead) roots the track. the single. different.
4. (4:20) ~12 sec gear-up. midtempo. great electric riffs and suitably creepy sex-and-violence lyrics.
*5. (5:19) spare start. plodding, dark. organ. sinister and accusing. trashcan drums. picks up and gets awesome 2 min to end with hella moody synth.
*6. (4:09) mid-fast, cold, achey. somber cooking bass, hard kit, melodic vox. swirls.
7. (5:11) slow, beatless. doom-and-gloom low-reg piano and low-frequency static. gradual picked guitar build, then ploddy bash-out drums.
8. (4:39) busy rudder bass and high keys. swirly. really big synth. aggressive, but not as despairing as the rest of the record.
9. (5:53) jagged combat guitar and creepster high-note pulses. military kit. ends on a vocal line.

Track Listing
1. Alphabet   5. Nil
2. Dead City   6. Don't Look At Me
3. Sick Of You   7. Not Sleeping
4. Don't Move   8. Another Bed
  9. Kill It In The Morning