From The Mouth Of The Sun / Woven Tide
Album: Woven Tide   Collection:General
Artist:From The Mouth Of The Sun   Added:Feb 2012

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-02-25 Pull Date: 2012-04-28 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18 Mar 11 Mar 4
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 3 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 12, 2012: maximum entropy ii
A Season In Waters
4. Mar 29, 2012: Maximum Misanthropy
Color Loss
2. Apr 11, 2012: maximum entropy
A Season In Waters
5. Mar 28, 2012: Nighttime Maximum Entropy
A Season In Waters
3. Apr 04, 2012: maximum entropy
A Season In Waters
6. Mar 23, 2012: Lost Verses
Color Loss

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2012-02-20
Layered, experimental ambient. From the Mouth of the Sun is a project by Swedish musician Dag Rosenqvist (of Jasper TX) and American artist, Aaron Martin (releases on Preservation Records). The sound is a melancholic slab of stringed instruments (cello, banjo, violin, guitar) dripping in vinyl hiss, effects, vocals, and piano. The slow acoustic pieces are given electronic swaths and buzzy, hypnotic treatments. Fragile, heady, and affective, this is an incredible mix of academic and emotionally immediate material. If you enjoyed the recent Lawrence English or the likes of Deaf Center or (late) Xela, you’re going to love this. Another winner from our friends at Experimedia.

1. Distant atmospherics and delicate build. (1:09)
*2. Spacious piano chords glide into lush, delicate, cinematic waves of bliss. (6:25)
*3. Ghostly vocals, vinyl crackling, eerie bells, and rich, melancholic strings in second half. (6:03)
4. The floor drops out from underneath - a real bliss wash. Low end rumble, steady cymbal build, reverberating chiming effects, organs, and guitars. (4:08)
5. Straightforward piano/violin emotional heartstrings. (3:41)
6. Simple tonal pattern, church-like organ + weepy strings that build with swirling guitars and vocals. (7:42)
*7. Enveloping haze of keys, chimes, effects, distorted guitars. Just tremendously gorgeous. (11:40)
8. Beautifully warm, melodic guitar strum augmented by light synths and bells. (3:14)

Track Listing
1. The Crossing   5. Sitting In A Roofless Room
2. Pools Of Rust   6. Like Shadows In An Empty Cathedral
3. Color Loss   7. A Season In Waters
4. My Skin Drinks Light That Has Passed Through Leaves   8. Snow Burial (While Blue Skies Gather)