Young Magic / Melt
Album: Melt   Collection:General
Artist:Young Magic   Added:Feb 2012
Label:Carpark Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-02-25 Pull Date: 2012-04-28
Week Ending: Apr 8 Mar 25
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 12, 2015: A Visit From Drum
Jam Karet, Yalam
4. Mar 22, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
2. May 31, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
5. Apr 29, 2012: A Family Affair
3. Apr 12, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
6. Apr 05, 2012: Happy 3rd Day of Sch00L!

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-02-21
Melt is an excellent example of artsy electronica; on this album, the Australian group Young Magic blends electronic sounds together with some very unique and eclectic percussive beats to make compelling music.
Key tracks: 1, 3, 6, 9, 10. FCC VIOLATION on 3.

** 1) Sparkly (3:40): Slow crawling track with really interesting clinking percussion and cool drums. Most of vocals are wordless, but sound great.
2) Slip Time (2:45): Bizarre electric beat
**3) You With Air (3:31): FCC VIOLATION—“shit” used once, “fuck” used once. Catchy electronic riff. Pity there’s a violation here.
4) Yalam (1:55): Short Drum-heavy track.
5) Jam Karet (3:22): Reminds me of Passion Pit's “Sleepyhead”, but slower. No sound for last five seconds of the song.
**6) Night in the Ocean (4:12): Garage-y electronic slow burner that transforms at approximately 3:00 into a very pretty guitar-and-vocal-harmony ditty. The last minute really makes the song shine.
7) Watch for Our Lights (1:50): Repetitive electronic riff and repetitive lyric, ends abruptly (but at 1:50 exactly).
8) The Dancer (3:50): Another track made interesting by its percussion, which changes beat throughout the song in really jarring but interesting ways (especially during the verse-to-chorus transition). At 3:23 the song essentially ends, leaving only ambient noise to fade out.
**9) Cavalry (2:03): an electronic take on the “epic soundtrack” style. Something I’d picture in a futuristic version of a Lord of the Rings movie.
**10) Sanctuary (3:26): Chimes in this song are great, pretty vocal refrain. Transitions very well into the next track.
11) Drawing Down the Moon (3:57): Softer song in comparison to the rest of the record with desperate knocking drumbeat that adds edge to it.

Track Listing
1. Sparkly   6. Night In The Ocean
2. Slip Time   7. Watch For Our Lights
3. You With Air   8. The Dancer
4. Yalam   9. Cavalry
5. Jam Karet   10. Sanctuary
  11. Drawing Down The Moon.